Mountain biking and cycling on Semmering

 

Mountain biking and cycling on Semmering



The area around Semmering offers a wide range of runs for the ambitious hobby or family cyclist as well as the sporty mountain biker or downhill racer. Numerous signposted cycle paths, mountain bike routes and fun parks guarantee exclusive "biking fun".

Selected mountain bike routes:

Alp tour Austria
This tour of 27 stages also leads over Semmering. The dream of endless biking with the cornerstones Graz – Schladming – Vienna has come true. More information on: www.alpentour-austria.info 

Franz Werfel Route
10,5 kilometres – 360 metres in altitude - Terrain: tarmac, forest paths, gravel paths
Starting from Passhöhe Semmering – Café Pub Pinguin via Grenzlandhütte and Hochstraße,  downhill in the Adlitzgraben to Breitenstein to the central location, Blunzenwirt Inn. From here partly steeply uphill to Kreuzberg to the Speckbacher Hütte. Again downhill to Orthof to the viaduct Kalte Rinne. Here you keep to your left and continue downhill in the Adlitzgraben again to Breitenstein. At the Blunzenwirt Inn you keep to your right and return to Semmering via Adlitzgrabenstraße.

Kaltenbach Stuhleck Route
8,4 kilometres- 570 metres in altitude - Terrain: tarmac, forest paths, gravel paths
From Semmering you cycle via the R 46 Semmering cycle path, which leads along the Alte Reichsstraße, to Spital am Semmering. From the council house ascend to the Kaltenbachgraben via Sonnwinkel and past the wood chapel, a cultural gem, to the Gaißschlagermühle (service at the weekends!). From here it is partly steeply uphill via the Langeben- and Rehkögerlweg the mountain inn Friedrichhütte, which is open on Saturdays, Sundays and bank holidays of the summer months. Return the same route! 

Kienberg Route
17,7 kilometres – 520 metres in altitude - Terrain: tarmac, forest paths, gravel paths
Starting from Passhöhe Semmering – Café Pub Pinguin via Grenzlandhütte and Hochstraße,  downhill in the Adlitzgraben to Breitenstein to the central location, Blunzenwirt Inn. From here continue downhill and shortly before Klamm uphill to the church. In Klamm keep to your left and continue to Kreuzberg, where you join the "Franz Werfel" mountain bike route.

Liechtenstein Route
24,1 kilometres – 700 metres in altitude - Terrain: tarmac, forest paths, gravel paths
Starting from Passhöhe Semmering – Café Pub Pinguin via Grenzlandhütte and Hochstraße. Past the Südbahnhotel via the S curve to the "Attersee Villa" below the Hotel. Below, in a sharp right turn you take the left to Hahnstraße. Along this forest path you reach the u-turn Geißkircherl. From here you go on to Adlitzgrabenstraße and reach the neighbouring village Breitenstein. Keep to your right along the Semmering train line and return to Semmering.

Semmeringbahn Route
9,3 kilometres – 275 metres in altitude - Terrain: tarmac
Starting from Passhöhe Semmering – Café Pub Pinguin via Grenzlandhütte and shortly after that on the Hochstraße you keep to your left towards Wolfsbergkogel. Before the place-name sign below the Südbahnhotel you turn right and reach the Gläserstraße. Continue downhill into the Adlitzgraben. Keep to your left and cycle via the Adlitzgrabenstraße back onto Semmering.

Mountainbiken & Radfahren am Semmering

 

Mountainbiken & Radfahren am Semmering



Das Gebiet rund um den Semmering bietet dem ambitionierten Hobby- oder Familienradler, wie den sportiven Mountainbiker oder Downhiller alles was sein Herz begehrt. Zahlreiche beschilderte Radwege, Mountainbikestrecken und Fun Parks garantieren exklusiven "Radspaß".

Ausgesuchte Mountainbiketouren:

Alpentour Austria
Die 27 Etappen umfassende Tour führt seit einiger Zeit auch über den Semmering. Der Traum vom grenzenlosen Biken mit den Eckpunkten Graz - Schladming - Wien wurde somit Wirklichkeit. Mehr Infos unter: www.alpentour-austria.info


Franz Werfel Weg
10,5km - 360Hm - Gelände: Asphalt, Forstwege, Schotterwege
Vom Ausgangspunkt Passhöhe Semmering - Cafe Pub Pinguin über die Grenzlandhütte und die Hochstraße den Adlitzgraben bergab nach Breitenstein zum Zentralpunkt, dem Gasthaus Blunzenwirt. Von hier teilweise steil bergauf auf den Kreuzberg zur Speckbacher Hütte. Nun wieder bergab nach Orthof zum Viadukt Kalte Rinne. Hier halten Sie sich links und fahren den Adlitzgraben bergab wieder nach Breitenstein. Beim Gasthaus Blunzenwirt halten Sie sich rechts und fahren über die Adlitzgrabenstraße wieder retour auf den Semmering.


Kaltenbach Stuhleck Strecke
8,4km - 570Hm - Gelände: Asphalt, Forstwege, Schotterwege
Vom Semmering fahren Sie über den R 46 Semmering Radweg, der die Alte Reichsstraße entlang verläuft, nach Spital am Semmering. Vom Gemeindeamt radeln Sie leicht bergauf in den Kaltenbachgraben über den Sonnwinkel und die Waldkapelle, ein kulturelles Kleinjuwel, zur Gaißschlagermühle (Wochenende bewirtschaftet!). Von nun an geht es teilweise recht steil bergauf über den Langeben- und Rehkögerlweg zum Berggasthaus Friedrichhütte, das an Samstagen, Sonntagen und Feiertagen in den Sommermonaten geöffnet hat. Retour wieder die gleiche Strecke!


Kienberg Strecke
17,7km - 520Hm - Gelände: Asphalt, Forstwege, Schotterwege
Vom Ausgangspunkt Passhöhe Semmering - Cafe Pub Pinguin über die Grenzlandhütte und die Hochstraße den Adlitzgraben bergab nach Breitenstein zum Zentralpunkt unserer Nachbargemeinde, dem Gasthaus Blunzenwirt. Von hier zunächst bergab und knapp vor Klamm wieder bergauf zur Kirche. In Klamm halten Sie sich links und fahren Richtung Kreuzberg, wo Sie in die Mountainbikestrecke "Franz Werfel Weg" einmünden.


Liechtenstein Strecke
24,1km - 700Hm - Gelände: Asphalt, Forstwege, Schotterwege
Vom Ausgangspunkt Passhöhe - Cafe Pub Pinguin geht`s über die Grenzlandhütte auf die Hochstraße. Vorbei am Südbahnhotel durch die S Kurve zur "Attersee Villa" unterhalb des Hotels. Knapp unterhalb zweigen Sie in einer scharfen Rechtskurve nach links ab auf die Hahnstraße. Diese Forststraße entlang gelangen Sie zur Kehre Geißkircherl. Hier auf die Adlitzgrabenstraße und Sie gelangen in die Nachbargemeinde Breitenstein. Hier halten Sie sich rechts entlang der Semmeringbahn wieder nach Semmering retour.


Semmeringbahn Strecke
9,3km - 275Hm - Gelände: Asphalt
Vom zentralen Ausgangspunkt Passhöhe Semmering - Cafe Pub Pinguin über die Grenzlandhütte oberhalb, gleich danach auf der Hochstraße links halten Richtung Ortsteil Wolfsbergkogel. Knapp vor der Ortstafel unterhalb des Südbahnhotels zweigen Sie rechts ab und gelangen auf die Gläserstraße. Weiter bergab radeln Sie in den Adlitzgraben. Hier halten Sie sich links und fahren über die Adlitzgrabenstraße wieder retour auf den Semmering.